Volkswagen Owners Club Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 1981 1.6L rabbit that will crank but it won’t start. I am relatively new to working on diesels so this one has been a constant learning experience for me. There are a couple of things to note when trying to start. Firstly, when I try to start it, the fusible link located on the firewall which I believe to be the glow-plug Fuselink (correct me if I’m wrong) becomes quite hot, hot enough to melt the plastic it’s mounted to but not hot enough to melt the link paired with smoke. Secondly the glow plug dash indicator remains on forever (or extremely an long time) when I go to start it. I have also primed the injector pump as well as I could find out how by removing the banjo bolt labeled out on top and filling the injector pump to the top, (feel free to inform me if I was priming it incorrectly please). As far as fuel goes I went to drain the tank but there was hardly anything in it. Should I just throw some new fuel in the tank or fully drop it to clean it beforehand?

Any advice or knowledge would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

·
Super Moderator
10,690 Posts
If you have the wait forever glow plugs Verify that the Bus bar has 12V on it.
Replace the number 4 glow plug and if the car starts then change the other 3.

If you have the Seven second GP's then change the Number 4 plug, and see if it starts. If it does, then change the other 3.

For the seven second plugs after I changed out mt wait forever ones, I found out that they usually go bad one at a time and until the 4th one craps out, you can start your car on one plug. So after getting stranded once I started to carry a spare GP in my boot along with the wrenches to remove the number 4.

Seven Second plugs should be changed about 1-1 1/2 years as they don't last as long as the wait forever. To verify which type you have look at the Glow Plug relay.

Reactions: stevemcgee99

·
Registered
23 Posts