Volkswagen Owners Club Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was topping off the windshield wiper fluid in my new (to me) 2013 Passat 2.5 and I thought I would check out the dipstick and make sure that the oil was at proper level. It had service at the dealer (early 10K service at 9800 miles, including oil change) but I felt compelled to check. Imagine my horror when I saw white sticky snot-like goo all along the dipstick. While I am new to VWs, I am no stranger to cars, so my heart sank and I immediately thought that there is coolant mixing with the oil. The car is under warranty so I contacted the dealership and will set up an appointment, but it raised a few questions in my mind:

1. Does the red G12 type coolant have a different chemistry (i.e., not mostly ethylene glycol) such that it would not make the classic snot when it mixes with oil? (wishful thinking, I know, but I don't know much about G12 coolant)

2. It seems odd to me that a seal or gasket would fail in such a new car with so little miles (car was a dealer's loaner car with 9800 miles when I bought it), are there specific issues with the 2.5L I5 that make it susceptible to this kind of failure, or do I just have bad luck?

Any insight is appreciated.

Thanks!

·
We're Geekin'
8,488 Posts
Is it a milky color? Do you take a lot of short trips? Water can accumulate in the crankcase/dip stick/top of oil cap if the car has a lot of short trips as the water produced during combustion isn't fully removed because the engine doesn't get hot enough due to short trips. Take a long highway drive and check it again.

Reactions: jdub_2000

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
DUSlider-