Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here. 67 bug, new carb, electronic ign, timed right,
valves in adjustment, 1638 engine is tight, everything checks
out. I had a problem going a hundred or so feet, first time it
acted this way. Died a couple times, 10 second crank time to
restart, but made it up. I'm thinking float is set too low so it's
fuel starved on very steep hills. Is that even a thing? Any suggestions?
Thanks!
Thom W

·
Registered
271 Posts
Newbie here. 67 bug, new carb, electronic ign, timed right,
valves in adjustment, 1638 engine is tight, everything checks
out. I had a problem going a hundred or so feet, first time it
acted this way. Died a couple times, 10 second crank time to
restart, but made it up. I'm thinking float is set too low so it's
fuel starved on very steep hills. Is that even a thing? Any suggestions?
Thanks!
Thom W
Sounds possible to me. Did you change to headers or other high performance changes? If so, maybe jetted too small and starving under load. Does it handle flat ground OK?

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Sounds possible to me. Did you change to headers or other high performance changes? If so, maybe jetted too small and starving under load. Does it handle flat ground OK?
No headers, but it seems to have a good cam from the slight lope at idle. 2nd new carb, lots of fiddling to get the mixture right,
starts, runs fine on the flat. First time to our cabin, last 100' is pretty steep but doable for 2WD cars. I got a bit of a run
on it and it did well but It seemed that there was a fuel delivery issue so my mind went to low float level.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
To answer your other question, jetting was a much discussed topic at my local
VW shop (Relic in Wildomar, CA). They made sure I had the right jets.

·
Registered
271 Posts