Volkswagen Owners Club Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A Look Back at the Volkswagen Emissions Scandal - Should I Still Love My SuperBeetle?

This is my car. I drive a 1972 Volkswagen SuperBeetle which I have named “Campbell” since the ambiance of being inside of it is how I would imagine being inside of a soup can. I have been a loyal Volkswagen owner for a while now, but I am also a Humanitarian Engineer from the Colorado School of Mines who loves the planet more than anything and recently learned about the VW Emission Scandal of 2015. Should I still love my Volkswagen SuperBeetle or is it time to move on to a different car manufacturer?
In 2015, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) discovered that Volkswagen's “defeat devices,” a software designed to minimize emissions during testing processes, hid that vehicles were producing emissions over 40 times the legal limit when the car was driving. [1] This was a devastating blow to the company’s reputation, and not only did the EPA force Volkswagen to recall 14 models of cars dating back to 2009, but this illegal technology also had a multitude of negative externalities. [2] Not only did Volkswagen have to recall over 80,000 vehicles, but this also negatively impacted the housing market near the VW production plant in Chattanooga, Tennessee and had implications that went back to workers and their families. [3] Was it worth it to VW to get away with producing 40 times the legal limit of emissions for over 6 years with tens of thousands of vehicles? Should there be a ban on environmentally detrimental technologies?