Volkswagen Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
(2008 Rabbit)
TL;DR: Dealer says my Comfort Control Module is bad. Can't find my specific model # (1K0-959-433 D). Is this part interchangeable with other model #s? Also, is it hard to program with no VagCom experience?

Hey, again, everyone!

Early last week, I did a deep clean of my car. Wanted to pull my seats out, so before I did so, I disconnected the battery negative and proceeded to clean up. At the end of the day, I reassembled everything, and reconnected the battery.

I then discovered that my key fobs don't work at all. I tried to reset them following the manual but nothing happened. Also, on the driver's door, the one-touch open/ close window doesn't work; I can't open the passenger window, the fuel door, or the hatch. From the passenger door, the locking doesn't work, but I can open/ close the window from the passenger door.

I was told by the dealer that it's the Comfort Control Module. I was given part number 1K0-959-433 D. I can't seem to find that exact number. Most of the ones I find, the last bit is 2 letters rather than one. Are these parts interchangeable, or do I have to find my specific one? Also, how hard is it to program this module with no VagCom experience
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
13,746 Posts
most things aren't that difficult to reprogram, however, i would first try to communicate with the ccm via vagcom/vcds before purchasing anything.

and yes, some parts are interchangeable with other models. before swapping though, you'll want to take screen captures or photos of all of the settings that were in the original ccm.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Say I do plug in with VCDS and the CCM is dead, would I still be able to read the OEM codes that I would need for the new module?

The way I'm understanding it, if the module is dead, it wouldn't be able to communicate anything. Then again, this would be/ will be my first experience with tinkering with car electronics.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,745 Posts
Right, if the CECM is dead, you won't get anything from it.

Basically, you copy and paste the long code to a text editor, and save
it. When you replace the CECM, you copy and paste it back.

Your remotes (FOBs) are also programmed in the CECM.

It should be above the pedals on the drivers side. It controls all the lights in the car,
monitors them, controls what appears in the MFD, controls the leaving home and coming
home lights function, controls the horn(s) and other features. There are different
variants of this module; Medium and the Highline, the latter is required for fog lights,
bi-xenons and other features.

Partial listing of CECM’s and their details
3C0 937 049 (3C0937049) – 21 Byte – Medium
3C0 937 049 A (3C0937049A) – 21 Byte – Medium
3C0 937 049 B (3C0937049B) – 21 Byte – Medium
3C0 937 049 C (3C0937049C) – 21 Byte – Highend
3C0 937 049 D (3C0937049D) – 21 Byte – Medium
3C0 937 049 E (3C0937049E) – 21 Byte – Highend
3C0 937 049 F (3C0937049F) – 21 Byte – Medium
3C0 937 049 G (3C0937049G) – 21 Byte – Highend
3C0 937 049 H (3C0937049H) – 23 Byte – Medium
3C0 937 049 J (3C0937049J) – 23 Byte – Highend
3C0 937 049 K (3C0937049K) – 23 Byte – Medium
3C0 937 049 L (3C0937049L) – 23 Byte – Highend
3C0 937 049 P (3C0937049P) – 23 Byte – Medium
3C0 937 049 Q (3C0937049Q) – 23 Byte – Highend
3C0 937 049 R (3C0937049R) – 23 Byte – Medium
3C0 937 049 S (3C0937049S) – 23 Byte – Highend
3C0 937 049 T (3C0937049T) – 23 Byte – Medium
3C0 937 049 AA (3C0937049AA) – 23 Byte – Highend
3C0 937 049 AB (3C0937049AB) – 23 Byte – Medium
3C0 937 049 AC (3C0937049AC) – 23 Byte – Highend
3C0 937 049 AD (3C0937049AD) – 23 Byte – Medium
3C0 937 049 AE (3C0937049AE) – 23 Byte – Highend
3C0 937 049 AF (3C0937049AF) – 23 Byte – Medium
3C0 937 049 AG (3C0937049AG) – 23 Byte – Highend
3C0 937 049 AH (3C0937049AH) – 30 Byte – Medium
3C0 937 049 AJ (3C0937049AJ) – 30 Byte – Highend
3C0 937 049 AK (3C0937049AK) – 30 Byte – Medium
3C0 937 049 AL (3C0937049AL) – 30 Byte – Highend
3C8 937 049 A (3C8937049A) – 30 Byte – Medium
3C8 937 049 D (3C8937049D) – 30 Byte – Medium
3C8 937 049 E (3C8937049E) – 30 Byte – Highend
3C8 937 049 F (3C8937049F) – 30 Byte – Highend
3C8 937 049 G (3C8937049G) – 30 Byte – Medium
3C8 937 049 H (3C8937049H) – 30 Byte – unsure
3C8 937 049 N (3C8937049N) – 30 Byte – unsure
3C8 937 049 P (3C8937049P) – 30 Byte – unsure
3C8 937 049 Q (3C8937049Q) – 30 Byte – unsure
3C8 937 049 R (3C8937049R) – 30 Byte – Highend
3C8 937 049 S (3C8937049S) – 30 Byte – Highend
3C8 937 049 AA (3C8937049AA) – 30 Byte – unsure
3C8 937 049 AB (3C8937049AB) – 30 Byte – Highend


3c8 937 049 E is without FSH, without windshield heater.


http://forums.mwerks.com/showthread.php?3173886-DIY-Highline-CECM-Swap
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
13,746 Posts
Basically, you copy and paste the long code to a text editor, and save
it. When you replace the CECM, you copy and paste it back.
IF it is the same model CECM.

I did one last week where we had to take photographs with the phone in the long coding helper because the CECM was being upgraded with a newer version.

Once we connected back up to it, there were more options available and the options didn't appear to be stored in the same byte locations. meaning the long code for the same options on the newer cecm was completely different.

the 'upgrade' was performed due to a battery drain issue when an aftermarket head unit was installed. i had never heard of such, but it worked.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Right, if the CECM is dead, you won't get anything from it.

Basically, you copy and paste the long code to a text editor, and save
it. When you replace the CECM, you copy and paste it back.

Your remotes (FOBs) are also programmed in the CECM.

It should be above the pedals on the drivers side. It controls all the lights in the car,
monitors them, controls what appears in the MFD, controls the leaving home and coming
home lights function, controls the horn(s) and other features. There are different
variants of this module; Medium and the Highline, the latter is required for fog lights,
bi-xenons and other features.
Thing is, I believe my CECM is fine. All my lights, interior and exterior, are fine. My MFD works, and so does my horn. I was told by the stealership that it's my Comfort Control Module (Part # 1K0-959-433 D). I went through all of the part #s you posted, and none are a match.

The symptoms of my problem are: none of my key fob functions work (lock, unlock, hatch unlock). Driver's door can only open and close its own window and central lock/ unlock, no gas tank release and no hatch unlock. Passenger door can only open and close its own window, no central lock.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,745 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
1K0-959-433 is the CCM/Anti Theft control module.

These are all over eBay from $20.00 up, but can't see a "D" revision.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/2007-2009-VOLKSWAGEN-EOS-TURBO-COMFORT-CTRL-THEFT-LOCKING-MODULE-OEM-/253049959211
$20.00 but you can't use the EOS version, the rear windows are coded out.

I see "AF", "CT", "AT", "AS" no "D", this a US model?

Here's another $20.00 one:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/05-10-VW-JETTA-THEFT-LOCKING-CONTROL-MODULE-1K0959433CT-OEM-A57-/182669372652
The car is a US model. See, that's another thing that was confusing the hell out of me. The guy at the dealers gave me that part number, and also cited part number/ job number J519. When I was researching this earlier this month, ot seems that those two numbers are COMPLETELY different parts/ modules.

I have had almost the same experience as you in terms of finding the "D," spec part for 1K0-959-433, but I did find it in 2 places.

http://www.jimellisvwparts.com/products/Volkswagen-VW/2008/R32/Central-electronic-control-unit-for-comfort-system/5189096/1K0959433AL.html

https://oemwolf.com/oem-parts/1k0959433d.html
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,745 Posts
Yeah, I am not finding "D"

4-door:
1K0 959 433 AT
1K0 959 433 CC
2-door:
1K0 959 433 AS

https://oemwolf.com/oem-parts/1k0959433d.html
Says that it has been replaced by: 1K0959433BM.
Following that, IT was replaced by 1K0959433AL.

Cross-reference: 1K0-959-433-AL, 1K0-959-433-CD, 1K0-959-433-CT
http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Genuine-OEM-2006-2009-VW-Volkswagen-Jetta-Sedan-Theft-Control-Module-/141748944284

One eBay Germany item:
http://www.ebay.de/itm/Org-VW-Komfortsteuergerat-1K0-959-433-AL-1K0959433AL/300511758015

The two look the same...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Yeah, I am not finding "D"

4-door:
1K0 959 433 AT
1K0 959 433 CC
2-door:
1K0 959 433 AS

https://oemwolf.com/oem-parts/1k0959433d.html
Says that it has been replaced by: 1K0959433BM.
Following that, IT was replaced by 1K0959433AL.

Cross-reference: 1K0-959-433-AL, 1K0-959-433-CD, 1K0-959-433-CT
http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Genuine-OEM-2006-2009-VW-Volkswagen-Jetta-Sedan-Theft-Control-Module-/141748944284

One eBay Germany item:
http://www.ebay.de/itm/Org-VW-Komfortsteuergerat-1K0-959-433-AL-1K0959433AL/300511758015

The two look the same...
I can try and upload the picture from my phone that the dealer gave me, but do you have any idea what could be up with the J519? Again, from my research, the 1K0-959-433 # and the J519 are two separate modules, yet he made it seem like it was one job.

I went ahead and bought AllData DIY for my car to help me pull the module, and I can't find that anywhere either. None of the module names are matching up.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,745 Posts
J519 is not the same module.

This is a Volkswagen OEM J519 BCM Module for VW Jetta MK5. This one is the CECM...

Does not look like the 1K0-959-433 modules:

This one is always refereed to as the Anti-Theft module...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
J519 is not the same module.

This is a Volkswagen OEM J519 BCM Module for VW Jetta MK5. This one is the CECM...

Does not look like the 1K0-959-433 modules:

This one is always refereed to as the Anti-Theft module...
So I wonder why the dude referred them both when he gave me the quote. Really wanna believe they're not that incompetent, but who knows.

you need to get a look through vcds.

where are you located?

questioning if you've pinched a wire somewhere?
I'm in SW Florida (Sarasota County).

I've checked the harness in the driver's door, and I couldn't find anything wrong there.

I guess at this point I'll just have to wait for my check to come in so I can order VCDS, and then go from there.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,745 Posts
I guess at this point I'll just have to wait for my check to come in so I can order VCDS, and then go from there.
I got V14 and V17, under $50.00 at Wish.com

I got a Dual-K +CAN V17 I can't use, it doesn't work on my vehicle.

Anyhow, if it were the anti-theft module, then I don't think the car would start.

Have you disconnected the battery for 10+ seconds, then reconnect it to reset
the CECM? That is responsible for the issues you are having. Sometimes, a
simple reset works.... You will have to set the window up limit so auto up and
down work, that's about it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
I guess at this point I'll just have to wait for my check to come in so I can order VCDS, and then go from there.
I got V14 and V17, under $50.00 at Wish.com

I got a Dual-K +CAN V17 I can't use, it doesn't work on my vehicle.

Anyhow, if it were the anti-theft module, then I don't think the car would start.

Have you disconnected the battery for 10+ seconds, then reconnect it to reset
the CECM? That is responsible for the issues you are having. Sometimes, a
simple reset works.... You will have to set the window up limit so auto up and
down work, that's about it.
Can you PM me the links? I'll look up the difference when I get a sec.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
V17
https://www.wish.com/c/59709add8d1a1f3179444ece
https://www.wish.com/c/597093a8511c27730745f083

Just sign up to see, and search on your own to find one. Don't
have to buy anything to sign up.

Not sure what works with your vehicle, but the V14 and V17 work,
the V17 Dual-K + CAN one I have, does not. I don't think it is for
my vehicle.



You only need signup to see everything, you don't need to buy.
Would I be able to download the software on Ross-Tech and use your OBD adapter if I buy it? The laptop I plan to use is my old gaming one with 2 GPUs instead of 1 graphics card and 1 disk drive.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,745 Posts
They come with software, just never update it. You won't need to,
V17 will cover your vehicle. When I went to V15 from 14, I was missing
a few ROD files for my radio and ECU. V17, did not get the missing ROD
file error.

The Dual K+CAN I have won't work with your car, it's the same year as mine.
V14 - V15 won't cover the RNS315, or ECU.

You can't use their software with these cables, they're not legitimate Rosstech,
though they say it on the cable.

All you will need is the V17 from Wish.com. IT will come with a disc to install.
This is from China, of course... When you run the software it will say it is out
of date and want to update it, don't. Mine works fine...

However, if you want the Support and bellyaching from RossTech, then buy
one of their cables for $200+.

I do not have a cable for you, that Dual-K +CAN won't work... Just pick up
one those HEX+CAN V17s....

ALSO, did you try the battery disconnect to reset everything?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
They come with software, just never update it. You won't need to,
V17 will cover your vehicle. When I went to V15 from 14, I was missing
a few ROD files for my radio and ECU. V17, did not get the missing ROD
file error.

The Dual K+CAN I have won't work with your car, it's the same year as mine.
V14 - V15 won't cover the RNS315, or ECU.

You can't use their software with these cables, they're not legitimate Rosstech,
though they say it on the cable.

All you will need is the V17 from Wish.com. IT will come with a disc to install.
This is from China, of course... When you run the software it will say it is out
of date and want to update it, don't. Mine works fine...

However, if you want the Support and bellyaching from RossTech, then buy
one of their cables for $200+.

I do not have a cable for you, that Dual-K +CAN won't work... Just pick up
one those HEX+CAN V17s....

ALSO, did you try the battery disconnect to reset everything?
Sorry, I'm a little confused.

Firstly, yes, I have tried to disconnect the battery. Removed both terminals to make sure nothing was getting any power at all. After about a minute, I put the terminals back on and started the car. Still have the same symptoms.

The part I'm confused about is what I would get from the purchase. Is it just the CD with the software on it, or would I get a USB to OBD2 adapter as well? The reason I ask is because my laptop doesn't have a CD drive, instead it has a 2nd graphics card. If I were to purchase an adapter, I would need somewhere to download the software from.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
13,746 Posts
from wish you'll most likely get a knock-off cable that's hacked to that specific software version (which will be on cd).

no upgrades/no support
 
1 - 20 of 29 Posts
Top