Volkswagen Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Super Moderator
10,552 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
[h=2]hello guys i am new to this form and i am in need of some help. i have tried posting in other posts and creating my own fourm and i have had no luck..... so i am sorry if this violates this form....... i have a 1981 vw rabbit diesel manual. heres the full story. everything was working great. then one morning my dome lights did not come on when i opened the door. so after a few days of driving (put on 70 miles a day) i had some spare time so i decided to check the fuse. the 15amp fuse for the dome lights was poped. so i said hmmm i wonder why that happened but o well i will replace it..... tried replacing the fuse and it kept sparking as i was trying to replace it. (i had the door open obviously) so i decided before i arced anything that i would unhook the battery. so i unhooked the positive terminal, replaced the fuse. re connected the battery and boom the dome lights started to work.. closed the hood. went to start the car. all indicator lights come on glow plug light times out and the car does not crank. further testing i found that the signal wire to the starter was not getting power to it when the key is in the cranking position. so just to verify everything i took a jumper wire from the battery to the signal terminal on the starter and the car cranked..... hmmm so i go to the fuse box. all of the fuses are good. i changed what i think is the starter relay with the horn relay.. still no start. turn the key to the on position and i hear the relay click. turn to the start position i again here it click but no power to the signal wire... my question is where does that black / red signal wire go to or get its power from? i traced it back to a bigger rectangle connector in the dash and if i apply 12v to that the car will again crank so i know my wiring to the starter is good... it appears that after the black rectangle connector the red/ black wire goes to