Volkswagen Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I recently bought a 2007 1.6 FSI Golf MK5 / 64,000 miles / private seller / good price but needed a couple of simple things sorted out (e.g. new blower motor resistor and rear windscreen wiper). Read full MOT history (passed all but one in last 7 years) but only partial service history in past 5 years. Seems well looked after. It's my first time driving a VW, so i'm getting used to the feel.

There are a couple of things that have occurred since buying (4 weeks later). I've Googled the issues and found some answers on this site and elsewhere, but not sure they're the same as my issues.

Firstly, perhaps related, is that the air conditioning isn't pumping out ice cold air. The likelihood (hopefully) is that it just needs to be refilled. I did need to replace the blower motor resistor (only top speed was working before) so chances are perhaps the AC is actually not working properly.

The two main issues are these:

1 - There's a 'whirring' sound coming from the engine/front when engine on and car stood still. Not necessarily only in neutral though: i can disengage the clutch, put it in any gear, change the gears, and the noise continues. It usually only happens once the engine is heated up: i haven't heard noise when i first start the car. It's usually after i first stop and then go to restart engine. It's not particularly loud, but it's continuous and obvious. Not sure i'd say the clutch and/or gearbox seem unusual. I did notice yesterday at traffic lights in neutral that the car was a 'shuddering' a little. But, like i said, i'm new to VW.